JUNO WATT

Musician & Music Producer based out of West London, U.K. with Mi7 Records

Website: http://www.junowatt.com/

Mi7 Records: http://www.mi7records.com/

1. What inspired you to start making music?

I’ve always been obsessed with the world of sound and how we perceive it. I was first introduced to playing music in the form of Cello when I was 7. This progressed on to drums, synthesisers and twiddling with anything else I could get my hands on. I started coming up with my own stuff on my breaks at school where we had access to guitars and pianos. After coming up with a number of hooky riffs I followed in my peers footsteps and started a band. Realising that we were rubbish I jumped on the back of a prog rock band playing drums for some guys a few years above me. I got squeezed out eventually and replaced. I don’t think much happened to them. Producing came later when I was set loose on Cubase VST, a very basic piece of software that enabled me to produce basic beats. This is where I met the world of sequencing and have never looked back.

I guess a general love for music and sound got me into it.

2. What is the best part about what you do?

Every part is amazing. I guess variation keeps things exiting. It’s impossible to have two days the same when you’re making music every track I write is very individual.

Also working with like minded people and having flexibility is great. I get to be a geek playing with technology and a business head as the music industry acts as a pilot for loads of marketing techniques.

3. Who do you admire?

I think the question should be more what do I admire. Of course loved ones top the list but I have a great admiration for the world around us. I find life fascinating and have an admiration for nature. This doesn’t mean I’m a hippy, I just think a lot of human creations are a reinvention of something in nature.

4. You recently released a song, ‘No Chances’ with Mi7 Records in London, U.K.. What brought about this collaboration?

 It’s not really a collaboration. I wrote the tracks and produced them. Mi7 helped me with mixdowns and post production.

Mi7 are like minded renovators of the music industry and a close knit family.

Check out Juno Watt’s music Video for ‘No Chances’: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I8QFy2LO0MI

5. How do you generate themes for your music?

That’s not a question with a simple answer.

6. What kinds of work have you done with the band King Charles?

 King Charles is the lead singer. I’ve done remixes.

Check out King Charles: http://www.myspace.com/kingcharlesuk

7. What is it about remixes that compels you to make them so much?

Taking a story and writing it the way I want.

8. What do you respect most in a creative collaboration?

Being open and not letting ego get in the way of making something great.

9. Do you see yourself making music in countries other than the U.K.?

Yes

**

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “JUNO WATT

  1. melissa says:

    Great review Carrie

Leave a Reply

