JULIA STONE

Actor

 

 

1. Can you remember key moments where you knew that acting was for you? 

I’ve always watched movies and thought about what it would be like to actually do that- what the actors are doing. And I’ve always said- well that’s kind of cool, there are actually people doing that. I’ve always wanted to be able to do that, and then a few years ago I thought, “well what if I can do it?” I convinced my mom to get me an agent, and from there I just took lots of classes and I did some auditions, and that’s how it started.

 

2. What is the best part about what you do?

I really like stories and how stories can make people feel things and see things differently. I think being a part of that storytelling is really amazing for me. Also, I really like the process of figuring out why people are who they are, and why they do what they do, and what makes them who they are. That’s a part that I really like.

 

3. What character did you play in the movie “The Year Dolly Parton Was My Mom”?

I played the role of Elizabeth. An eleven year old girl who doesn’t know where she fits in the world, and who she’s supposed to be. She accidently finds out that she’s adopted and that adds a whole new level of not knowing who she is.

 http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1316624/

 

4. Why was this movie special to you?

I think that it had a really amazing story and it was really well written. I think it’s something that a lot of- actually all people go through around that age. Sort of- finding out who you are and what you’re meant to do and why you’re here. I think that that’s really important. It sends the message that who you are isn’t- it doesn’t depend on who your mom is or where you come from, it matters who is inside of you and having the courage to be that person.

 

5. What do you feel that you learned while making this film?

I definitely learned a lot because it was my first feature film. The biggest thing that I learned was about people on the set and what each person’s job is. I learned so much from this movie and from the other actors and from everyone.

 

6. If you could work with a person that you respect in the film industry, who would it be?

There are definitely a lot of really good actors. I think, really, there is a lot to learn from every actor. When I do short films, and student films, every actor has something to teach other people.

 

7. What do you admire most when working with another actor?

With each actor it is different. Sometimes an actor really focuses on being natural and making sure that it comes from a real place, and that they’re not trying to force out the emotion. It’s different with every actor, so I think that’s really amazing- working with different actors and learning something new from each one.

 

**
Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

